Sunday, April 10, 2011

HHM - Classification of Centrifugal Pumps

Centrifugal Pump:

A centrifugal pump is one of the simplest pieces of equipment. Its purpose is to convert energy of an electric motor or engine into velocity or kinetic energy and then into pressure of a fluid that is being pumped.

The energy changes occur into two main parts of the pump, the impeller and the volute. The impeller is the rotating part that converts driver energy into the kinetic energy. The volute is the stationary part that converts the kinetic energy into pressure.

Centrifugal Force:

Liquid enters the pump suction and then the eye of the impeller. When the impeller rotates, it spins the liquid sitting in the cavities between the vanes outward and imparts centrifugal acceleration. As the liquid leaves the eye of the impeller a low pressure area is created at the eye allowing more liquid to enter the pump inlet.

Centrifugal pumps are used for large discharge through smaller heads


1. Turbo-pumps or Rotodynamic pump

a. Radial flow or Centrifugal pump

i. Volute Pump

1. Single Stage Pump

2. Multi-stage Pump

ii. Turbine Pump

1. Single Stage Pump

2. Multi-stage Pump

b. Axial flow or Propeller pump

c. Semi axial flow or Mixed flow pump

2. Positive Displacement Pumps

a. Reciprocating Pumps

b. Rotary Pumps

3. Jet Pumps

No comments:

Post a Comment